Rotary Club of Norwin
Our History
Rotary is a service organization with a motto of “Service Above Self”.  Our 1.2 million-member organization started with the vision of one man—Paul P. Harris. The Chicago attorney formed one of the world’s first service organizations, the Rotary Club of Chicago, on 23 February 1905 as a place where professionals with diverse backgrounds could exchange ideas and form meaningful, lifelong friendships. Rotary’s name came from the group’s early practice of rotating meetings among the offices of each member.

The Rotary Club of Norwin was chartered as the Rotary Club of Irwin on May 3, 1963, over 50 years ago. The club has been active since that time and has embraced service to community, country and the world. Norwin is a name given to a collection of three communities in our area: North Huntingdon, Irwin, and North Irwin. The name came from our school district serving the same area.

To learn more about the history of Rotary, visit 

Our Members
As of July 1, 2019, the Norwin Rotary Club consisted of 26 members and 7 honorary members. ( Frank Chadima, Ron Coiner, Ted Gilbert, John Hynes, Dan Obara, Chuck Terbot)

Our membership is comprised of men & women, "young" & "seasoned", actively working & retired, and a variety of professions.  Everyone who truly believes in "Service Above Self" is welcome!  To join any Rotary Club you must be invited by a member of the club.  If you are interested in joining, please speak to any Rotarian or contact the Norwin Rotary's Membership Chair - Brenda Kacvinsky at - 724-244-1941 

Check out more pictures of our Rotary fun on our Facebook page!  
Our Programs & Projects
We have our own programs & projects and we also partner with other organizations.  This list consists of past projects as well as current ones.  
Boy Scouts Westmoreland County * Memorial Day Parade * Catheterization Lab Installation (Kiev) * Multiphasic Blood Testing
Norwin Chamber of Commerce * The Backpack Project * College Scholarships * Norwin High School Interact Club
 Girl Scouts Westmoreland County * Norwin High School Library * Teddy Bear Project * Norwin Public Library * Inner Wheel Norwin Scholarship Golf Outing * Interact Club Road Cleanup * Norwin Senior Citizen’s Dinner * International Scholarship 
The Rotary Foundation * Irwin Fire Department * Rotary Ramps * Irwin Male Chorus * Rotary Youth Exchange Sponsorship
 Irwin Playground * Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA) * Poison Control Centers (Europe) * Salvation Army Bell Ringing
 Meals on Wheels * High School Student of the Week * Tribune Review Adopt a Classroom * Strike Out Hunger Night
United Way Campaign * End Polio Now Campaign * Westmoreland County Food Bank *  Clean Water & Sanitation Projects 
Project Lifesaver * World Affairs Council * Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership (HOBY) * Community Holiday Tree * 
Relight the Lamp Theatre * Military Banner Program * Norwin Light Up Night*

Our Committees
2019-2020 Avenues of Service/Committees

International Service: Matt Wirtz
  (includes: water filters, Polio Plus, Dominican Project, DCG)
District Interantional Project: Matt Wirtz 
Paul Harris Nominations: Bill McCabe

New Generations: Ryan Dansak
Interact: Mat Beck
Dictionaries: Gary Teti
Scholarship:  Brenda Kacvinsky, Gary Teti, Cheryl Campbell
  (includes RYLA, W Aff. Council, Dictionaries, student guests)
Youth Exchange: Ryan Dansak
Scholarship Golf Outing:  Cheryl Campbell,  Rosanne Novotnak, 
John Ott, Bill McCabe, John Duncan

Community Service: Jason Csukas
Multi-phasic Blood Testing: Jerome Croce 
Salvation Army Bell Ringing: Rosanne Novotnak
Fresh Express: Bill Caruthers 
Backpack Project: Jason Csukas, Bill Snyder,
Chili/Wings Cookoff: Bill Caruthers, Cheryl Campbell, Rosanne Novotnak 
Christmas Tree: Brenda Kacvinsky,  Ryan Dansak,  Cheryl Campbell, Bill McCabe
Military Banners: Bill Snyder

Club Service:  Cheryl Campbell
Audio/Visual:  Mat Beck (Chair)
Finance: Tom Graney
Fundraising: Cheryl Campbell, Bill McCabe, Brenda Kacvinsky,
                        John Duncan, John Ott. Linda Shaner, 
                        Rosanne Novotnak, Ryan Dansak
Governance:  Bill McCabe, Tyler Jones, Jim Duffy, Bill Caruthers,
                        Russ McCullough, Cheryl Campbell
(includes: bylaws/constitution, nominations & elections, 
installation of new members, historian, parliamentarian, selection of 
Club Service Award and Community Service Award)
Public Relations:   Cari Kocinski, Mat Beck , Brenda Kacvinsky
Song Leader: Nick Poole,  Ryan Dansak, 

Fellowship:   Brenda Kacvinsky, Linda Shaner
(includes Holiday Party, Annual Installation Dinner, Socials)
Membership: Brenda Kacvinsky, Mat Beck
Invocations: Members as needed
Program:  Linda Shaner, Gary Teti, John Ott
Sergeant-at-Arms:  Russ McCullough  (Member Inductions)

Vocational Service: Jim Duffy
Career Development: TBD
Career Day w/ Interact: Rosanne Novotnak, Mat Beck
Website: Brenda Kacvinsky​
   2019-2020 Member

Mathew "Mat" Beck
Cheryl Campbell
William "Bill" Caruthers Esq. 
Jerome Croce
Jason Csukas
Ryan Dansak Esq.
James "Jim" Duffy Esq.
John Duncan
Thomas "Tom" Graney CPA
Tyler Jones Esq.
Brenda Kacvinsky
Cari Kocinski
Tim Kotch
Michael "Mike" Liptak
William "Bill" McCabe Esq.
Timothy "Tim" McCabe
Russell "Russ" McCullough
Rosanne Novotnak
John Ott
Terry Painter
Rev. Nicholas "Nick" Poole 
Chrys Sabula
Linda Shaner
William "Bill" Snyder
Gary Teti
Rev. Delena Thomas
Matthew "Matt" Wirtz